School roll capping in Inverness for 2017-18

Due to current pressures on school rolls and following an analysis of school roll forecasts, The Highland Council is ‘capping’ or limiting school rolls and reserving places in some Primary Schools in Inverness for the 2017/18 academic session.

The schools affected are Kinmylies Primary, Duncan Forbes Primary, Smithton Primary, Merkinch Primary, Hilton Primary, Holm Primary, Lochardil Primary and Milton of Leys Primary.

Both Cradlehall Primary and Inshes Primary are capped for this current 2016-17 session.  These caps will be lifted for next session, 2017-18, as the roll forecasts show a gradual decline in the total roll for these schools.

The Council will do its best to accommodate all pupils in their preferred choice of school.  Priority will be given to children within a school’s catchment area, and then to siblings of pupils already in a school.

27 Jan 2017

Add a Comment